Life sciences · Observational Study
ClinicalTrials.gov · September 29, 2026
No summary has been generated for this record yet. What follows is drawn from its source metadata only.
Observational Study.
No findings were extractable from the material analysed.
Safety was not reported in the material analysed. Check the source before drawing any conclusion about harm.
The source did not state who this applies to in practice.
Graded across the dimensions that decide whether you should act, each from what the source actually supports. There is no single score, and where a dimension was not assessed it says so.
This record has not been graded across any dimension yet. Treat the label above as provisional and read the source.
What is missing. This record has no bottom line, key findings, reported figures, evidence dimensions. That is a gap in the analysis, not a judgement about the study.
Registry record from ClinicalTrials.gov (NCT07846956). This is a study registration, not published results. Lead sponsor: Istanbul Saglik Bilimleri University. Recruitment status: NOT_YET_RECRUITING. Study type: OBSERVATIONAL. Enrollment: 28 participants (ESTIMATED). Conditions: Non-arteritic Anterior Ischemic Optic Neuropathy Obesity, Obesity. Interventions: DRUG: GLP-1 Receptor Agonist Therapy. Primary outcome measures: Occurrence of NAION , Baseline (GLP-1 RA initiation) to final recorded eye examination, up to 14 months. Brief summary: Non-arteritic anterior ischemic optic neuropathy (NAION) is one of the most common causes of sudden, painless, usually unilateral vision loss in adults over 50 years of age, and no proven effective treatment exists. Glucagon-like peptide-1 receptor agonists (GLP-1 RA), such as semaglutide and tirzepatide, are widely used for type 2 diabetes and obesity. Since 2023, case series, cohort studies and regulatory reviews have raised the possibility of an association between semaglutide and NAION, but published evidence is conflicting, and data in non-diabetic obese patients are limited. This retrospective, single-center, descriptive real-world study will review the existing records of non-diabetic obese adults (BMI \> 30) who used a GLP-1 RA and attended the ophthalmology outpatient clinic between January 2025 and February 2026 with at least two eye examinations. The aim is to describe the occurrence and time-related change of NAION and related ophthalmic findings in this population.