Life sciences · Phase 3 Trial
ClinicalTrials.gov · September 14, 2026
No summary has been generated for this record yet. What follows is drawn from its source metadata only.
Phase 3 Trial.
No findings were extractable from the material analysed.
Safety was not reported in the material analysed. Check the source before drawing any conclusion about harm.
The source did not state who this applies to in practice.
Graded across the dimensions that decide whether you should act, each from what the source actually supports. There is no single score, and where a dimension was not assessed it says so.
This record has not been graded across any dimension yet. Treat the label above as provisional and read the source.
What is missing. This record has no bottom line, key findings, reported figures, evidence dimensions. That is a gap in the analysis, not a judgement about the study.
Registry record from ClinicalTrials.gov (NCT05421858). This is a study registration, not published results. Lead sponsor: Basilea Pharmaceutica. Recruitment status: RECRUITING. Phase: PHASE3. Study type: INTERVENTIONAL. Enrollment: 450 participants (ESTIMATED). Conditions: Candidemia, Candidiasis, Invasive. Interventions: DRUG: Fosmanogepix; DRUG: Fosmanogepix; DRUG: Caspofungin; DRUG: Fluconazole; DRUG: Placebo; DRUG: Placebo; DRUG: Placebo; DRUG: Placebo. Primary outcome measures: Proportion of patients alive at Day 30 , Day 30; Proportion of patients with an overall response of treatment success at end of study treatment (EOST) , EOST (up to Day 42). Brief summary: The purpose of this clinical trial is to learn about the safety and effects of the study medicine (called Fosmanogepix) for the potential treatment of candidemia and/or invasive candidiasis, a life-threatening fungal infection caused by several species of yeast called Candida. The study is seeking patients who have a diagnosis of candidemia and/or invasive candidiasis. Two-thirds of all patients will receive the study medication fosmanogepix Intravenous (IV) infusion followed by optional fosmanogepix tablets. One-third of all patients will receive a standard of care regimen of caspofungin Intravenous (IV) infusion followed by optional fluconazole capsules. Fosmanogepix or caspofungin will first be given as an Intravenous (IV) infusion directly into a vein in the arm each day at the study clinic. Fosmanogepix tablets or fluconazole capsules will be taken orally by mouth daily either at the study clinic, or at home if patients are well enough to be discharged from the hospital. The treatment effect in patients receiving fosmanogepix to those receiving caspofungin/ fluconazole will be compared. The primary aim is to show that fosmanogepix is not inferior (not worse) to caspofungin/ fluconazole with a noninferiority margin of 15%. The duration of study treatment and number of study visits will vary depending on how long the patient will be treated for the infection. Treatment will continue for a maximum of 6 weeks depending on when the infection is cleared and whether other symptoms related to the infection have improved. There will also be a follow-up visit 6 weeks after the study treatment was stopped.