Aging / Sham transcutaneous vagus nerve stimulation respiratory-gated non-painful electr / Active transcutaneous vagus nerve stimulation respiratory-gated non-painful elec · Interventional Study
ClinicalTrials.gov · September 9, 2026
Early or partial results. Treat as a signal, not a conclusion.
This is a completed trial registration for a sham-controlled study of transcutaneous vagus nerve stimulation (tVNS) in older adults with cognitive assessment as primary outcome. No results are posted in this registry record, so efficacy, safety, or any clinical benefit cannot be evaluated from this source alone.
Interventional, Randomized, Sequential, Single masking, Other purpose. Aging; age from 60 Years; to 85 Years; accepts healthy volunteers. Intervention: Stimulation preceded by cross-over Sham-Stimulation; Stimulation preceded by cross-over Stimulation-Sham; cross-over Stimulation-Sham; cross-over Sham-Stimulation. Compared with: Sham preceded by cross-over Sham-Stimulation — Sham Comparator; Sham preceded by cross-over Stimulation-Sham — Sham Comparator. n = 126. 1 site: United States.
This is a completed trial registration for a sham-controlled study of transcutaneous vagus nerve stimulation (tVNS) in older adults with cognitive assessment as primary outcome. No results are posted in this registry record, so efficacy, safety, or any clinical benefit cannot be evaluated from this source alone.
Safety was not reported in the material analysed. Check the source before drawing any conclusion about harm.
Clinicians should not interpret this registry entry as evidence of benefit or harm. Results must be obtained from published trial reports or results posted to the registry before clinical decisions can be informed.
This is a completed registry record with no posted results; the study enrolled 126 participants in an interventional design testing transcutaneous vagus nerve stimulation against sham, but outcome data are not reported in this source.
As stated by the source record.
Quoted from the source exactly as published.
Clinicians should not interpret this registry entry as evidence of benefit or harm. Results must be obtained from published trial reports or results posted to the registry before clinical decisions can be informed.
Graded across the dimensions that decide whether you should act, each from what the source actually supports. There is no single score, and where a dimension was not assessed it says so.
What is missing. This record has no key findings. That is a gap in the analysis, not a judgement about the study.
Registry record from ClinicalTrials.gov (NCT04908358). This is a study registration, not published results. Lead sponsor: Massachusetts General Hospital. Recruitment status: COMPLETED. Phase: NA. Study type: INTERVENTIONAL. Enrollment: 126 participants (ACTUAL). Conditions: Aging. Interventions: OTHER: Active transcutaneous vagus nerve stimulation respiratory-gated non-painful electrical stimulation of the auricle for 10 minute sessions; OTHER: Sham transcutaneous vagus nerve stimulation respiratory-gated non-painful electrical stimulation of the auricle for 10 minute sessions. Primary outcome measures: Performance on the Face-name association memory task (FNAME) , Up to 25 weeks: assessed during week 1, week 2, week 8,week 9, week 17 and week 25; Being a responder as determined by Face-name association memory task (FNAME) change scores , Based on data from the first 4 weeks (cross-over). Brief summary: In this research study the investigators want to find out if a non-invasive electrical brain stimulation method called RAVANS (also called tVNS) can have a beneficial effect on cognition in older individuals. The investigators also want to understand whether certain individual factors contribute to the effect of RAVANS on cognition. RAVANS is only used in research studies.
Taken from the source record, never inferred. Follow any of these and new work involving them reaches your briefing.